“Your PC ran into a problem and needs to restart” (Installing Windows Server 2012 on VMware ESXi 5.0)

Preparing somewhat for the upcoming Microsoft Beta Exams (071-413, 071-414, 071-415 and 071-416) thinking I would go ahead and install Microsoft Windows Server 2012 into my testing environment which is VMWare ESXi (at the moment). I created a custom VM, removed the Floppy drive (because that seemed to be the issue not getting Windows 8 working within VMware Workstation 8). I did do some other standard stuff like selecting Windows Server 2008 (64-bit) instead of Windows Server 2008 R2 (That seemed part of the solution on Workstation). All this to no avail on VMWare ESXi 5.0.

The resolution for me was to patch the VMware ESXi 5.0 server to Build 768111 which is up to 5.0.0 Patch 7.

I like the new fun error message though … Hope it will last beyond RC level, Microsoft should do more fun stuff like this, and I don’t mean more error messages Winking smile.

0001

About Henny Louwers
I work as a Consultant specialized in Application Delivery, Virtualization of Servers, Desktops and Apps.

4 Responses to “Your PC ran into a problem and needs to restart” (Installing Windows Server 2012 on VMware ESXi 5.0)

  1. Paulo Raponi says:

    Hi,

    What’s your base studing for 071-415 and 071-416?

    Thanks

    Like this

  2. Tradiionalbill says:

    In English I wish I knew what this means. My gateway computer is brand new with windows 8, and does this about twice a day. I have no idea how to make it stop.

    Like this

    • My biggest guess is that you have faulty hardware. Problem is the reasons can vary from hardware to hardware component. If you have no idea how to pursue, you will need to consult a technician or claim warranty.

      Like this

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

